What's the Difference between The Queen's Gambit the Book and The Queen's Gambit the TV Show?


The Queen's Gambit

Released: 1983
Author: Walter Tevis

The Queen's Gambit

Released: 2020
Creator: Scott Frank
Add/Edit a Character
Enter the Characters Name:

In the Book In the TV Show
Beth Harmon
Beth Harmon
Portrayed by: Anya Taylor-Joy
Benny Watts
Benny Watts
Portrayed by: Thomas Brodie-Sangster
William Shaibel
William Shaibel
Portrayed by: Bill Camp
Harry Beltik
Harry Beltik
Portrayed by: Harry Melling
Alma Wheatley
Alma Wheatley
Portrayed by: Marielle Heller
Kentucky tournament officials
Matt and Mike
Portrayed by: Matthew and Russel Lewis
Jolene DeWitt
Portrayed by: Moses Ingram
Un-named tournament officials
Matt and Mike
Portrayed by: Matthew and Russell Louis
The Queen's Gambit Book vs TV Show
Add/Edit a Difference
This Spoils the Ending
In the Book In the TV Show
   Beth could picture five chess boards on the ceiling while in bed. Beth only ever pictured one chess board at a time.
   Beth is taken to a hospital for treatment after she steals the tranquilizers, swallows about 30 and then passes out. After she steals and eats many pills, Beth is shown passing out after she is caught. Nothing about treatments for an overdose.
   Beth still had 23 pills in her dress pocket after returning to the orphanage from the hospital. She has no pills left after returning to the orphanage.
   Beth is punished for the stealing the pills by being required to set up for chapel, then report on the subject matter present. And no more chess. Beth is punished by not being allowed to play chess.
   Miss Farley and Mr. Fergussen visit Beth and her mother after her adoption for an inspection. This does not happen in the film.
Prev  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9   Next  |  View All

Login or Register
You'll Need to be logged in to do that!
Login to your Account or Create an Account
User Name:   Username:
Password:   Password:
Verify Password:
Email Address:
(Not Required)

Featured Comparison

The Leftovers

38 differences