What's the Difference between Ladies in Lavender the Book and Ladies in Lavender the Movie?


Ladies in Lavender

Released: 1916
Author: William J. Locke

Ladies in Lavender

Released: 2004
Director: Charles Dance
Add/Edit a Character
Enter the Characters Name:

In the Book In the Movie
Ursula Widdington
Ursula Widdington
Portrayed by: Judi Dench
Janet Widdington
Janet Widdington
Portrayed by: Maggie Smith
Andrea Marowski
Andrea Marowski
Portrayed by: Daniel Brühl
Olga Danilof
Olga Danilof
Portrayed by: Natascha McElhone
Portrayed by: Miriam Margolyes
The Doctor
Dr. Mead
Portrayed by: David Warner
Jan Pendered
Jan Pendered
Portrayed by: Freddie Jones
Adam Penruddocke
Adam Penruddocke
Portrayed by: Clive Russell
Ladies in Lavender Book vs Movie
Add/Edit a Difference
This Spoils the Ending
In the Book In the Movie
   The book is set in 1916. The film is set in 1936.
   Ursula and Janet are in their mid-forties. Andrea is twenty. Judy Dench and Maggie Smith were 68 when the film was made. Andrea's age is not mentioned, but he is youthful and handsome.
   Ursula and Janet Widdington never married and always lived in their father's house Ursula is a spinster, Janet is a widow. Janet was a nurse during World War I.
   The sisters give Andrea clothes to wear that belonged to their father. The sisters buy Andrea a new suit to wear.
   This does not happen in the book. Dr. Mead is infatuated with Olga. But she rejects his offers to dance at a party and when he visits her near the coast while painting, she does not welcome him. Dr. Mead is jealous of the much younger Andrea.
1 2 3   Next  |  View All

Login or Register
You'll Need to be logged in to do that!
Login to your Account or Create an Account
User Name:   Username:
Password:   Password:
Verify Password:
Email Address:
(Not Required)

Featured Comparison

The Spectacular Now

58 differences

The Most differences

How Many?
The 5th Wave 55
A Dog's Purpose 51
The Lucky One 50
Footloose 43
Serena 42
View All Comparisons